top of page
  • Writer's pictureSydney Graham

Memory Lane

This week at World Cafe was incredible. For a little back story, I went to World Cafe every Friday my first year at ETSU. I made a lot of friends from all over the world, but mostly found myself hanging around Japanese students. After that first year, all of them went back home to Japan.


On Friday, I was in the kitchen talking with Hisashi and Rachelle when a few students walked in. One looked vaguely familiar, but I couldn't quite remember who she was. She had me try to guess her name because she knew me immediately. And once I realized that Fuki was in town, my voice went several octaves higher.


So many people were happy to see her. We had a crazy amount of students that were there years before that had left come and visit. A lot of them knew Fuki and were ecstatic to see her. It was a complete surprise.


The atmosphere at the house felt reminiscent. It was something I haven't felt because a lot of people I knew at World Cafe have left ETSU. It was probably the coolest feeling I've had. I'm looking forward to the future when other students get a chance to visit and that feeling comes back.


I'm excited for what will come from World Cafe this semester. I've enjoyed getting to meet new students and see old ones.


Sydney Graham



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page